

# AUSTRALIAN GOLFING FELLOWSHIP OF ROTARIANS Inc.

PATRONS: Sir Clem Renouf, R.I. President, 1978-79. Royce Abbey, R.I. President, 1988-89.

# NEWSLETTER

# December 2010

# **NEWS FROM PERTH**

It is now 2 months since our Tournament in Perth and this is my first opportunity to put pen to paper in my new role as the President of the Australian Golfing Fellowship of Rotarians. As I said in Perth I am honored to have this position following such a wonderful group of past Presidents whom I have admired in my time in the Fellowship. Your new Executive Committee has hit the ground running and I will report later in this newsletter on developments so far.



With near perfect weather and the Western Australian Golf Club and course presented in tip top condition, the Rotary Club of Ascot hosted an AGFR Tournament in Western Australian for the first time in 32 years. And what a great week of golf and fellowship it

Australia.

was. At total of 94 Rotarians, 31 Guests and 47 Non Golfers registered for the week – a total of 172. Any concerns that the Eastern State Rotarians would not make the trip across the Nullabor were allayed, and we are looking forward to the next tournament in Western Australia in hopefully 7 years time.

The success of the Tournament in Perth was primarily due to the efforts of Grenville Courtland. He did an absolutely fantastic job almost single handedly (ably assisted by Gary Jacobs). He left no stone unturned in an effort to make the Tournament a memorable one – well done Grenville and thanks on behalf of all the AGFR members for organising our first tournament in Western

Some of the Rotarians managed to play better golf than others on the tough Western Australia

Golf Club layout, and the following is a list of the trophy winners for the week.



Grenville Courtland in charge

**Rotarians Tournament** 

Clem Renouf Trophy – Jeff Stevenson & Leigh Iles (Best Total Team Score)		Victoria Trophy – Colin Hubbard & Bryan Waters (Team with 2 <sup>nd</sup> Highest Score)	
<b>Royce Abbey Trophy –</b> (Highest Individual Aggregate Score with Handicap)	Jeff Stevenson	<b>The Western Australian</b> (Highest Individual Aggregat without Handicap)	<b>Trophy – Rodney Woodman</b> e Score
<b>The South Australian Trophy</b> – (Division 1 Player with the Highest Individual Aggregate Score)	Peter Anderson	<b>The Tasmanian Trophy</b> (Division 2 Player with the Highest Individual Aggregate	•
<b>The Northern Territory Trophy</b> – (Division 3 Player with the Highest Individual Aggregate Score)	Colin Hubbard	<b>The Queensland Trophy</b> (Division 1 Player with the 2 <sup>nd</sup> Highest Individual Aggregate	
<b>Glen Kinross Trophy</b> – (Player 65 years or over with the Highest Individual Aggregate Score)	Alan Greig	<b>The Australian Capital</b> <b>Territory Trophy –</b> (Division 3 Player with the 2 <sup>nd</sup> Highest Individual Aggregat	Kevin Beaumont
<b>The New South Wales Trophy –</b> (Division 2 Player with the 2 <sup>nd</sup> Highest Individual Aggregate Score)	Rod Tate		

### **Guests Competition**

**Highest Individual** 

**Stableford score** 

Team with Highest Stableford score Dianna Motteram & Helen Debnam Team with Second Highest Stableford score Heather Motteram & Janelle Malcolm

Second Highest Individual score

**Dianna Motteram** 

Congratulations to all the trophy winners and all those who participated in a wonderfully organized event.

### AGFR ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Judy Iles

As usual the Annual General Meeting of the Fellowship was held during the Tournament and the following were elected to the various committees:-

#### **Executive Committee**

President -Vice President -Secretary -Assistant Secretary/Treasurer -

#### **Nominating Committee**

President -Immediate Past President -Another Past President -5 year Participating President -

#### **Delegates Committee**

2 year Term

NSW	Bill Pitt
NT	Jim McNally
QLD	Vern Gilbert
SA	David Motteran
TAS	Paul Grubb
VIC	Alan Newstead
WA	Grenville Courtland
SA TAS VIC	David Motteran Paul Grubb Alan Newstead

## **RESOLUTION**

The AGM also passed a resolution to reduce the number of signatories to the AGFR bank account from 2 persons to 1 to incorporate electronic banking.

This resolution was a spirit of the moment motion which was not correctly constituted, (a green President), and therefore has not been acted upon by the Executive.

A properly constituted resolution re electronic banking will be put to the next AGM in Victor Harbor and this time the resolution will be in accordance with our AGFR rules with the required notice etc. Sorry for the procedural lapse on my part.



Victoria Trophy Winners - Col Hubbard & Bryan Waters

## AGFR VESTS

The Executive has been working on an idea to have available for purchase at Victor Harbor a suitably monogrammed AGFR 100% woollen golf vest. At this stage we have only ordered a small number in various colours and we expect to sell them for \$60 each. The vest we are ordering may be viewed at

<u>www.sporteleisure.com.au/product.php?id=134&catid=9</u> which is a Mens 100% Wool Club Vest. If you are interested in purchasing one or more of these please email me with your size and colour. The colours we have ordered at this stage are black, blue & stone. And yes Lady Rotarians if you would like one as well, let me know and we will organize a suitable ladies version.

- Greg Armstrong Wayne Nicholls Peter Corke Barry Watson
- Greg Armstrong Robert Motteran Peter Partridge Alastair Ward

1 year Term

Ernie Dunstan Martin Jolly Lloyd Fleming Brian Esselbach Peter Partridge David Carmichael

## JOHN HOOD AGFR MEMORIAL SCHLORSHIP

I am often asked if we hear anything regarding the career developments of past scholarship awardees, so I thought you may be interested in the story of Daniel Cook whom the AGFR sent to America in 2003 from New South Wales. His story is amazing and makes me feel proud to be associated with an organistion that has played a large part in his development.

I have attached 2 articles regarding Daniel, one which appeared in a recent addition of Australian Turf Grass Management magazine and one which appeared in the May/June edition of the PGA Magazine – great reading

## **FUTURE TOURNAMENTS**

2011 – Will be in South Australia at Victor Harbor playing on the Victor Harbor Golf Club and McCracken Country Club.

2012 – Will be in the North Territory at the Darwin Golf Club. If you have not been to an AGFR Tournament in Darwin this is one not to miss.

2013 – Will be in Queensland at a venue to be decided by the delegates at Victor Harbor in April. It would appear that the delegates will receive at least 2 presentations for the right to hold the Tournament in Queensland in 2013.

# NEXT YEAR WE MOVE TO VICTOR HARBOR

The beautiful surroundings of the Western Australian Golf Club proved an ideal setting for the usual AGFR fellowship with many tall tales and stories of what might have been (except for that bit of bad luck in the bunker, trees, water etc....)

Next year, we move to the magnificent (but challenging) seaside courses at Victor Harbor, in South Australia.at the Victor Harbor Golf Club and the McCracken Country Club Golf Club from  $10^{\text{th}} - 15^{\text{th}}$  April 2011.

The organizing Committee is quickly filling the field for the Tournament so if you do not want to be disappointed by missing out on a start in the field I suggest you complete an



Application immediately. Application forms can be downloaded from the AGFR Website www.agfr.org.

In closing may I take this opportunity to wish all Rotarian golfers and partners and families a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and I look forward to seeing you all in Victor Harbor.

Greg Armstrong President

# **Contacts**

Greg Armstrong - PO Box 68, Laurieton NSW 2443 Ph 65599006 Email - <u>garmstrong@pdd.com.au</u> Barry Watson - 14 Spinnaker Ridge Way, Belmont NSW 2280 Ph 49459763 Email - <u>bazdor@ozemail.com.au</u>